I Forgot

I put some frozen fish in the fridge the other day to thaw. I forgot about it.

It’s only been sitting there for probably 2 days, but when it comes to thawing, I always forget when I’ve put a frozen item in the fridge… until I move a box that was blocking it and I remember.

Fuck.

Tonight, I cooked said long lost fish. I should also mention that I was STARVING by the time my last class ended at 6pm so when I came home, I devoured a lot of chips and salsa. So for dinner tonight, I wanted to keep it light. I made this dinner almost every night when I was abroad in Ireland- it’s so easy. Not to mention that salmon, specifically, is packed with omega-3 fatty acids (aka good for your blood vessels and heart).

Ingredients:

  • 1 individual cut of Salmon
  • Handful of spinach and/or kale
  • Zucchini (chopped)
  • Mushrooms (2 or 3 chopped)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive Oil

Optional:

  • Lemon or lemon juice
  • Oregano

Instructions:

  1. Heat small/medium pan to medium heat on stove
  2. Lightly coat small/medium pan with olive oil
  3. Sprinkle salt and pepper onto meat side of salmon
  4. Optional: sprinkle oregano onto meat side of salmon
  5. Place salmon in pan (either skin or meat side down); cook for 7 minutes
  6. Place spinach and/or kale, mushrooms, and zucchini into pan with salmon
  7. Once salmon has cooked on one side for 7 minutes, flip onto other side to cook for 5 more minutes
  8. Keep an eye on the salmon; you may need to flip one or more times to get an all around even light pink color
  9. Once the salmon is cooked to a light pink color all the way through, the spinach/kale has wilted, and the vegetables have browned, the dish is cooked and ready to eat
  10. Optional: squeeze part of a fresh lemon, or some lemon juice, onto the salmon for a kick of fresh flavor

Not pictured: me getting pissed at the saran wrap cutter and slicing my middle finger

Pro tip: don’t be like me and take your anger out on the saran wrap

Total Estimated Cost: $3.70-$4

Total Cook Time: 12 minutes

Leave a Reply

