????

I feel like I’m always running out of food to eat even thought I just went grocery shopping… How?

I finally ran out of spinach and kale a few days ago without either of them spoiling (yay!) which is the first time that’s happened in a while. I always hate throwing out food, especially when it’s food I bought with MY money. Have I mentioned that I’m broke?

That being said, I couldn’t figure out what I could have for lunch the other day because most of the food I had laying around was pretty much rice. I’m not going to sit there and eat a bowl of rice, like a peasant, unless it’s sticky sushi rice.

I asked my roommate, Meg, (hey, here’s ur shoutout) and her gf, Anna, what I should make. All I could find was a box of Annie’s mac n cheese and a veggie burger. Meg told me I should make the mac & cheese and mix in bits of the cooked veggie burger. While I said “wait, Meg, I’m gonna do that”, I ended up not doing that because I realized I had expired eggs in the fridge :–) sorry, Meg. Next time.

I like to call this recipe “????” because it’s a mixture of things that I could find around my house and also utilizes eggs that are 2 days past expiration. By the way, eggs are usually good for a few days after expiration, but you’ll want to shake them just to test them.

Ingredients:

Optional:

  • Sriracha
  • Salsa

Instructions:

  1. Heat up veggie burger whichever method is convenient. My veggie burger takes 12 minutes to cook in a toaster oven
  2. While the veggie burger is cooking, heat stovetop to low heat
  3. Lightly cover small/medium pan in olive oil
  4. Crack 2 eggs in the small/medium pan
  5. Wait about 4 minutes until eggs are cooked to perfection (I prefer mine sunny-side up)
  6. Heat 2 slices of toast in toaster
  7. Optional: Use desired amount of sriracha or salsa
  8. Eat sandwich

Total Estimated Cost: $2.37

Total Cook Time: Approximately 14 minutes

Leave a comment