Green Eggs (Sauce) & Ham (Chicken)

It was alumni weekend here at Syracuse University these past 2 days, and I haven’t drank as much alcohol as I did this weekend in a very very long time.

My mom came to visit and stay with me this weekend. Not my biological mom, but pretty close. One of my closest and best friends (as well as my big #srat), RM, came to visit. RM is one of my favorite human beings on this earth because she just emulates everything that I appreciate in this world, including sharing my love for fresh fruits and veggies.

img_2944

^This is the lovely Rachel (RM)

This weekend we talked a lot about food, and we spent a solid 2 hours at Tops buying food because I didn’t have much to eat, and also RM is gluten-free! My dearest RM cannot have gluten or else she will get pretty sick and she doesn’t need that. I truly forget how many things are considered “gluten” so I tend to repeatedly ask her if she wants a donut or a sandwich to which she always replies, “I can’t”. Sorry, RM, I’ll figure it out someday.

During the 2 hours RM and I spent at Tops, we realized we needed to cook dinner at some point and save some $$$. We decided to look at some of our saved links on social media to find a great recipe. I follow a lot of food Instagram accounts, because everything looks so good, and I remembered an easy avocado-herb sauce that I’d been wanting to make. We decided to make the sauce and pair it with some baked chicken.

After a finding motivation to rally after a tailgate and having a tiny battle with a tiny blender, we succeeded in making a pretty dang delicious dinner. If you like herbs, spice, chicken, and gluten-free food, this recipe goes out to you.

Baked Chicken Instructions

5 Minute Magic Green Sauce Instructions

Ingredients w/ Estimated Prices (Serves 2 People): 

  • Chicken breast (as much as needed) – $ varies by store and weight (I paid $4)
  • Olive Oil – $2
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 avocado – $1.50
  • 1 jalapeño – 20¢
  • Parsley – $2
  • Cilantro – $1.50
  • 2 Garlic bulbs – 40¢-50¢
  • 1 lime (we forgot the lime lol whoops, it was fine!!) – 70¢
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup of nuts (recipe calls for pistachios, preferably, but we used almonds) – $3-$4
  • Optional: garlic powder (for the chicken) – $1
  • Optional: spinach and kale – $4

Total Estimated Cost: $15.35-$20.35

Total Cook Time: 22-25 minutes

Leave a Reply

